Lake Como

Lake Como (also known as Lario) is in Northern Italy and lies at the foot of the Rhetian Alps. Lake Como, Lake Garda , Lake Lugano, Lake Maggiore and Lake Iseo are the five major lakes that make up the area known as the Lake District. The major towns around the lake are the Como (Capital City), Bellagio and Tremezzo.The lakes were formed during the Ice Age due to movement of glaciers from the Alps. The movement created deep valleys in soft rock areas below the Alps, creating a path for the ice. The ice which was caught in the valley floors melted to form the lakes.

Lake Como has a surface area of 146 sq km and is 51km long and widens up to 5km across. The lake has a maximum depth of 410 metres. The Adda River flows into the lake in the north and flows out at Lecco.Many areas of Lake Como are surrounded by sheer cliffs, making some waterside villages only accessible by boat. Swimming is no longer permitted in many areas of the lake (luckily) as the water is murky and probably (highly likely) unsafe. Tourists boats depart regularly from the main square Piazza Cavour. It is worth taking a trip to Comacina Island which is the lakes one and only island. The island was a safe haven for the Lombard kings when invaders came rampaging through.